Publishers Marketplace
   home
   site guide
   help
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
   rights postings
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .


. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

This site is a service of Publishers Lunch, the e-mail newsletter known as "publishing's essential daily read." Join the thousands of people who read Lunch every day.
agent : rena@thedeborahharrisagency.com
Rena Rossner
The Deborah Harris Agency
illustration

Rena Rossner is an agent at The Deborah Harris Agency - a Jerusalem-based literary agency founded in 1991. The agency represents worldwide publishing and dramatic rights of Israeli, Palestinian and international authors in more than forty countries.

In addition, we act as sub-agents for many publishers and agencies overseas to Israeli publishing houses.

Through our representation of rights both to and from Israel, The Deborah Harris Agency has earned a unique international reputation as the Israeli agency for literary fiction and non-fiction of the highest standards.


years experience: 8
GENRES & SPECIALTIES
General fiction, Mystery, Romance, Suspense/thriller, Fantasy/science fiction, Juvenile fiction, Cookbooks, Children's books, Fantasy, Young Adult, Middle Grade, Picture Books, Jewish Interest
LEADING CLIENTS
Alison Ames, Chris Baron, Ryan Calejo, Catherine Cerveny, Jen Dawson, Katya DeBecerra, Ryan Douglass, Beth Dranoff, H.E. Edgmon, Linda Epstein, Reem Faruqi, Stacey Filak, Maggie Findlay, Amy Gottlieb, Ben Guterson, Andy Harkness, Jess Hernandez, Nir Hezroni, Alicia Jasinska, Lori Banov Kaufmann, Eyal Kless, Evi Kline, Sacha Lamb, Cory Leonardo, Ally Malinenko, Susan Mann, Rachel Marks, Amber McBride, Jon Methven, Rutu Modan, Noar Lee Naggan, Mark Noce, Stacey Nockowitz, Liz Parker, Sofiya Pasternack, Jamar Perry, Planaria Price, R.M. Romero, Katherine Field Rothschild, Kevin Savoie, Leah Scheier, Gilad Soffer, Jessica Steinberg, Nic Stone, R.L. Toalson, Helen West, Gareth Wronski
BEST-KNOWN PROJECTS
YOUNG ADULT:
DEAR MARTIN by Nic Stone
ODD ONE OUT by Nic Stone
JACKPOT by Nic Stone
THE DISTANCE FROM A TO Z by Natalie Blitt
THE TRUTH ABOUT LEAVING by Natalie Blitt
YOUR VOICE IS ALL I HEAR by Leah Scheier
RULES OF RAIN by Leah Scheier
THE QUEEN UNDERNEATH by Stacey Filak
DARKNESS BRUTAL by Rachel Marks
DARKNESS FAIR by Rachel Marks
DARKNESS SAVAGE by Rachel Marks
FIRE AND BONE by Rachel Marks
CLAIMING MY PLACE by Helen West and Planaria Price

MIDDLE GRADE:
THE WOODS by R.L. Toalson
ANYA AND THE DRAGON by Sofiya Pasternack
SNOW ONE LIKE YOU by Natalie Blitt
CHARLIE HERNANDEZ AND THE LEAGUE OF SHADOWS by Ryan Calejo
CHARLIE HERNANDEZ AND THE CASTLE OF BONES by Ryan Calejo
WINTERHOUSE by Ben Guterson
THE SECRETS OF WINTERHOUSE by Ben Guterson
THE SIMPLE ART OF FLYING by Cory Leonardo
ALL OF ME by Chris Baron
THE COLORS OF THE RAIN by R.L. Toalson
CAROLS AND CRUSHES by Natalie Blitt

PICTURE BOOKS
DUCK'S VACATION by Gilad Soffer
NOT THIS TURKEY by Jessica Steinberg
EDDIE SPAGHETTI by Rutu Modan
MR. FIBBER by Yirmi Pinkus

ADULT
THREE ENVELOPES by Nir Hezroni
LAST INSTRUCTIONS by Nir Hezroni
THE LOST PUZZLER by Eyal Kless
THE RULE OF LUCK by Catherine Cerveny
THE CHAOS OF LUCK by Catherine Cerveny
THE GAME OF LUCK by Catherine Cerveny
MARK OF THE MOON by Beth Dranoff
BETRAYED BY BLOOD by Beth Dranoff
THE BEAUTIFUL POSSIBLE by Amy Gottlieb
THE LIBRARIAN AND THE SPY by Susan Mann
A COVERT AFFAIR by Susan Mann
AN UNCOMMON HONEYMOON by Susan Mann
BETWEEN TWO FIRES by Mark Noce
DARK WINDS RISING by Mark Noce

MOST RECENT SALES/ FORTHCOMING BOOKS
COMING SOON!
YA:
THE DARK TIDE by Alicia Jasinska (Sourcebooks Fire, June 2020)
WIDER THAN THE SKY by Katherine Field Rothschild (SOHO TEEN, September 2020)
JACK IN THE BOX by Ryan Douglass (PUTNAM/PENGUIN, Spring 2021)
DAUGHTER OF JERUSALEM by Lori Banov Kaufmann (DELACORTE/RANDOM HOUSE, Spring 2021)
THE LAST WORDS WE SAID by Leah Scheier (SIMON PULSE, Fall 2021)

MG:
THE WINTERHOUSE MYSTERIES by Ben Guterson (Christy Ottaviano Books, December 31, 2019)
CLEAN GETAWAY by Nic Stone (CROWN/RANDOM HOUSE, Jan. 7, 2020)
THE EMERALD CITY THEATER by Cory Leonardo (ALADDIN/S&S, Spring 2021)
THE VISTA POINT EINSTEINS by Ben Guterson (Christy Ottaviano Books, 2021)
MADE OF CLAY by Chris Baron (Feiwel & Friends Spring 2021)
THE HIDDEN WORKSHOP OF JAVIER PRESTON by Ben Guterson (Christy Ottaviano Books, 2022)

PICTURE BOOKS:
LILAH TOV by Ben Gundersheimer and Noar Lee Naggan (illustrator) (NANCY PAULSEN/PENGUIN, Feb. 18, 2020)
THE CATMAN OF ALEPPO by Irene Latham and Karim Shamsi-Basha (PUTNAM/PENGUIN, April 14, 2020)
WOLFBOY by Andy Harkness (BLOOMSBURY, Winter 2021)

ADULT:
PUZZLER'S WAR by Eyal Kless (HARPER VOYAGER, February 4, 2020)

RECENT SALES:

December 13, 2019 - THE LAST WORDS WE SAID by Leah Scheier
Children's: Young Adult Fiction

Author of YOUR VOICE IS ALL I HEAR and RULES OF RAIN Leah Scheier's THE LAST WORDS WE SAID, pitched in the vein of WE WERE LIARS set in an Orthodox Jewish community, about four best friends and what happens when one of them disappears and they all blame themselves, to Liesa Abrams at Simon Pulse, for publication in fall 2021, by Rena Rossner at Deborah Harris Agency (world).

October 25, 2019 - MADE OF CLAY, by Chris Baron
Children's: Middle Grade Fiction

Author of ALL OF ME Chris Baron's MADE OF CLAY, set against the backdrop of the 1989 San Francisco earthquake in a town of refugees who came to America via Angel Island, about a boy who is selectively mute and a girl who won't leave her house because of a skin condition and the magical Jewish clay that allows them to help each other, to Liz Szabla at Feiwel and Friends, for publication in spring 2021, by Rena Rossner at Deborah Harris Agency (NA).

September 13, 2019 - THE VISTA POINT EINSTEINS and THE HIDDEN WORKSHOP OF JAVIER PRESTON, by Ben Guterson
Children's: Middle Grade Fiction

Edgar-nominated creator of the Winterhouse trilogy Ben Guterson's THE VISTA POINT EINSTEINS, a mystery featuring a grieving family eager to start fresh by relocating to a remote bed-and-breakfast, pitched as SUMMERLOST meets FRONT DESK; and THE HIDDEN WORKSHOP OF JAVIER PRESTON, a mystery layered with art, puzzles, friendship, and family pitched in the vein of CHASING VERMEER and BOOK SCAVENGER, to Christy Ottaviano at Christy Ottaviano Books, in a very nice deal, in a two-book deal, for publication in 2021 and 2022, by Rena Rossner at Deborah Harris Agency (world).

July 10, 2019 - THE EMERALD CITY THEATER, by Cory Leonardo
Children's: Middle Grade Fiction

Author of THE SIMPLE ART OF FLYING Cory Leonardo's THE EMERALD CITY THEATER, in which a spectacle-wearing hedgehog secretly makes his home in a movie theater along with two chickens, while he dreams of a return to his beloved owner Dorothy; quite unexpectedly, he finds himself on a journey made for the movies, befriending a headstrong mouse, a heartbroken squirrel, a fearful raccoon, and a magical moth, all while dodging a wicked owl along the way, to Tricia Lin at Aladdin, for publication in spring 2021, by Rena Rossner at Deborah Harris Agency (NA).

April 19, 2019 - THE DARK TIDE, by Alicia Jasinska
Children's: Young Adult Fiction

Alicia Jasinska's debut THE DARK TIDE, an #OwnVoices dark fairytale fantasy that follows a teen who sacrifices herself to her sinking island-city's witch queen in order to save the boy she likes, but ends up falling in love with the witch herself, to Annie Berger at Sourcebooks Fire, in a two-book deal, for publication in fall 2020, by Rena Rossner at Deborah Harris Agency (NA).

April 4, 2019 - WOLFBOY, by Andy Harkness
Children's: Picture book

Moana art director Andy Harkness's WOLFBOY, which introduces Wolfboy as he experiences a universal feeling that will resonate with readers everywhere: being "hangry," to Mary Kate Castellani at Bloomsbury Children's, in a good deal, in a pre-empt, in a two-book deal, for publication in winter 2021, by Rena Rossner and Adah Megged Nuchi at Deborah Harris Agency (world excl. Dutch).

March 14, 2019 - DAUGHTER OF JERUSALEM, by Lori Banov Kaufmann
Children's: Young Adult Fiction

Lori Banov Kaufmann's DAUGHTER OF JERUSALEM, pitched in the vein of THE RED TENT and THE DOVEKEEPERS and based on real historical findings, about a young woman who survives the destruction of Jerusalem in 70 C.E. only to be captured and sold as a slave in Rome; she then finds love in the most unexpected place, to Beverly Horowitz at Delacorte, for publication in fall 2020, by Deborah Harris and Rena Rossner at Deborah Harris Agency (world English).

MOST RECENT RIGHTS SALES
March 27, 2019 - WOLFBOY
International rights: Children's

Andy Harkness's WOLFBOY, to Emile Op de Coul at Condor (Netherlands), in a pre-empt, by Stijn de Vries at Marianne Schoenbach Literary Agency, on behalf of Rena Rossner at The Deborah Harris Agency.

June 8, 2018 - Polish rights to Nic Stone's DEAR MARTIN and ODD ONE OUT, to Dariusz Marszalek at...
International rights: Children's

Polish rights to Nic Stone's DEAR MARTIN and ODD ONE OUT, to Dariusz Marszalek at Niezwykle, by Piotr Wawrzenczyk at Book/lab Literary Agency on behalf of Rena Rossner at The Deborah Harris Literary Agency.

March 26, 2018 - DEAR MARTIN and ODD ONE OUT, by Nic Stone
International rights: UK Children's

Nic Stone's DEAR MARTIN and ODD ONE OUT, to Jane Griffiths at Simon & Schuster UK Children's, at auction, by Anna Carmichael at Abner Stein, on behalf of Rena Rossner at The Deborah Harris Agency.

March 23, 2018 - Finnish rights to Nic Stone's ODD ONE OUT, to WSOY , by Trine Licht at Licht & Burr , on...
International rights: Children's

Finnish rights to Nic Stone's ODD ONE OUT, to WSOY, by Trine Licht at Licht & Burr, on behalf of Rena Rossner at The Deborah Harris Agency,

March 22, 2018 - Polish rights to Rachel Marks's FIRE AND BONE, to Kobiece , by Piotr Wawrzenczyk at...
International rights: Children's

Polish rights to Rachel Marks's FIRE AND BONE, to Kobiece, by Piotr Wawrzenczyk at Book/lab Literary Agency on behalf of Rena Rossner at The Deborah Harris Agency.

March 22, 2018 - Rights to Nic Stone's DEAR MARTIN, to Mizan for Bahasa Indonesian rights, by Santo...
International rights: Children's

Rights to Nic Stone's DEAR MARTIN, to Mizan for Bahasa Indonesian rights, by Santo Manurung at Maxima Creative Agency, Editura Art in Romania, by Andrea Focsaneanu at Simona Kessler Agency; and with ODD ONE OUT, to Niezwykle in Poland, by Piotr Wawrzenczyk at Book/lab Literary Agency, and to Penguen Kitap Kaset, by Cansu Akkoyun at Anatolialit Agency, on behalf of Rena Rossner at The Deborah Harris Agency.

SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS
Please send your query pasted into the email and you first 50 pages attached as a word document to: rena@thedeborahharrisagency.com
thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail