Publishers Marketplace
   home
   site guide
   help
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
   member search
   rights postings
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .


. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

This site is a service of Publishers Lunch, the e-mail newsletter known as "publishing's essential daily read." Join the thousands of people who read Lunch every day.
agent : patricia@marsallyonliteraryagency.com
Patricia Nelson
Marsal Lyon Literary Agency
illustration

Patricia Nelson joined Marsal Lyon Literary Agency in 2014. She represents adult, young adult, and middle grade fiction, and is actively building her list.

In general, Patricia looks for stories that hook her with a unique plot, fantastic writing and complex characters that jump off the page. On the adult side, she is seeking women’s fiction both upmarket and commercial, historical fiction set in the 20th century, and compelling plot-driven literary fiction. She’s also looking for sexy, smart adult contemporary and historical single title romance. On the children’s side, Patricia is open to a wide range of genres of YA and MG, with particular interest in contemporary/realistic, magical realism, mystery, science fiction and fantasy. She is interested in seeing diverse stories and characters, including LGBTQ, in all genres that she represents.

Patricia is a member of SCBWI and RWA. She received her bachelor’s degree from the College of William and Mary in 2008, and also holds a master’s degree in English Literature from the University of Southern California and a master’s degree in Gender Studies from the University of Texas at Austin. Before joining the world of publishing, she spent four years as a university-level instructor of literature and writing.


GENRES & SPECIALTIES
Young adult fiction, Middle grade fiction, Women's fiction, Romance, Literary fiction
MOST RECENT SALES/ FORTHCOMING BOOKS
Middle grade:

Sandy Stark-McGinnis's debut EXTRAORDINARY BIRDS, in which an eleven-year-old girl who has grown up in the foster system believes that one day she will transform into a bird and fly away, but when she's placed with a foster mom who runs a wildlife rescue, she gains a new perspective on family and home, to Allison Moore at Bloomsbury Children's, in a very nice deal, in a two-book deal, for publication in Spring 2019, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (World).

Margaret Dilloway's SUMMER OF A THOUSAND PIES, in which a twelve-year-old Great British Baking Show superfan is sent to live with her aunt in the mountains of California, and over the course of one summer learns about friendship, family, and how to make the perfect pie crust, to Kristin Daly Rens at Balzer & Bray, in a very nice deal, in a two-book deal, for publication in Winter 2019, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (World English).

Hayley Chewins's debut THE TURNAWAY GIRLS, a lyrical fantasy set in a city where no girls are allowed to make music and the cloistered turnaway girls are instead trained to spin boys' songs into gold, in which a twelve-year-old girl discovers a new kind of magic when she sings her own songs in secret, to Miriam Newman at Candlewick, for publication in Fall 2018, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (World English).

Kristi Wientge's debut KARMA KHULLAR'S MUSTACHE, in which a biracial Indian-American girl must navigate big changes in her friendships and family life as she starts sixth grade, all while trying to rid herself of an unexpected problem: seventeen hairs that have sprouted on her upper lip, to Liz Kossnar at Simon & Schuster Children's, for publication in summer 2017, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (World).

Young adult:

Axie Oh's untitled companion to REBEL SEOUL, set in near-future Asia, in which a teenage telepath joins a group of rebels on a series of secret missions intended to stop a deadly war, but her resolve is shaken when she encounters a past love who's turned to the other side, to Stacy Whitman at Tu Books, for publication in Fall 2019, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (world).

Author of DEAD TO ME and the forthcoming CAMP SO-AND-SO Mary McCoy's I, CLAUDIA, pitched as a contemporary retelling of I, Claudius, set in a Los Angeles prep school, following the title character's rise to power — and subsequent fall — as she seizes control of the school's esteemed Honor Council and then loses everything, to Alix Reid at Carolrhoda Lab, for publication in fall 2018, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (World).

Jaime Questell's debut BY A CHARM AND A CURSE, pitched in the vein of Maggie Stiefvater meets Tim Burton, in which a teen girl is entrapped by a cursed carnival when a kiss turns her into a living doll, and must figure out how to break the decades-old curse so she can become human again — without destroying the carnival (and the boy) she's growing to love in the process, to Stacy Cantor Abrams at Entangled Teen, for publication in 2018, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (World).

DEAD TO ME author Mary McCoy's CAMP SO AND SO, in which twenty-five teenage girls are invited to a mysterious summer camp in the Appalachian Mountains where all is not as it appears, pitched as Cabin in the Woods meets Wet Hot American Summer with the interlocking mystery structure of The Westing Game, to Alix Reid at Carolrhoda Lab, for publication in spring 2017, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (World).

Adult fiction:

Kate Bateman's A GOOD EARL IS HARD TO FIND, first in the Bow Street Bachelors series of Regency romances, in which a young heiress hatches a scheme to marry a condemned man in order to fend off fortune-hunting suitors, but the plan goes awry when she realizes the supposed convict she's wed is actually a roguish nobleman in disguise — who is very much alive, to Jennie Conway at St. Martin's, in a three-book deal, for publication in Fall 2019, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (World).

Kelly Ford's debut COTTONMOUTHS, pitched as Winter's Bone meets Sarah Waters, in which a young woman returns to her backwoods hometown and reconnects with the woman she loved as a teen, only to be ensnared in a dangerous world of drugs and small town suspicions, to Chelsey Emmelhainz at Skyhorse, for publication in Spring 2017, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (World English).

I'LL BE SEEING YOU co-author Loretta Nyhan's ALL THE GOOD PARTS, pitched as combining the quirk of The Rosie Project with the heart of Jojo Moyes, in which a 39-year-old single woman who's never been very good at follow-through learns that the time has come when she must decide if she's going to have a baby or not, and in the process of exploring her options discovers that you're never too old to come of age, to Jodi Warshaw at Lake Union Publishing, in a two-book deal, for publication in Fall 2016 and Fall 2017, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (World).

Susan Bishop Crispell's THE SECRET INGREDIENT OF WISHES, pitched in the vein of Sarah Addison Allen and Alice Hoffman, in which a young woman, hiding the secret that she can make wishes come true, finds herself in a charming North Carolina small town that was not on her map, to Kat Brzozowski at Thomas Dunne Books, in a very nice deal, in a pre-empt, in a two-book deal, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (World).

K.C. Bateman's debut TO STEAL A HEART, a historical romance in which a roguish double agent finds himself requiring the talents of France's most skilled tightrope walker, but neither expects the intense attraction that quickly sparks between them, to Junessa Viloria at Loveswept, in a three-book deal, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency. (World English)

SUB-AGENTS/ RIGHTS CONTACTS
Taryn Fagerness Agency (foreign rights)
www.tarynfagernessagency.com
SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS
Send a query letter, along with the first 10 pages pasted in the body of the email, to patricia@marsallyonliteraryagency.com. Please put QUERY in the subject line.