Publishers Marketplace
   home
   site guide
   help
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
   rights postings
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .


. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

This site is a service of Publishers Lunch, the e-mail newsletter known as "publishing's essential daily read." Join the thousands of people who read Lunch every day.
agent : patricia@marsallyonliteraryagency.com
Patricia Nelson
Marsal Lyon Literary Agency
illustration

Patricia Nelson joined Marsal Lyon Literary Agency in 2014. She represents award-winning and bestselling authors of adult, young adult, and middle grade fiction.

In general, Patricia looks for stories that hook her with a unique plot, fantastic writing and complex characters that jump off the page. On the adult side, she is seeking women’s fiction both upmarket and commercial, historical fiction set in the 20th century, and sexy, smart adult contemporary and historical single title romance. On the children’s side, Patricia is open to a wide range of genres of YA and MG, with particular interest in contemporary/realistic, magical realism, mystery, science fiction and fantasy. She is always interested in seeing novels by BIPOC, queer, and disabled authors in all genres that she represents.

Patricia received her bachelor’s degree from the College of William and Mary in 2008, and also holds a master’s degree in English Literature from the University of Southern California and a master’s degree in Gender Studies from the University of Texas at Austin. Before joining the world of publishing, she spent four years as a university-level instructor of literature and writing.


years experience: 8
GENRES & SPECIALTIES
Young adult fiction, Middle grade fiction, Women's fiction, Romance
BEST-KNOWN PROJECTS
The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea by Axie Oh (NYT bestseller)
Every Body Looking by Candice Iloh (National Book Award Finalist & Printz Honor)
I, Claudia by Mary McCoy (Printz Honor)
Indestructible Object by Mary McCoy (ALA Rainbow List selection)
Cool for the Summer by Dahlia Adler (ALA Rainbow List selection)
The Sisters of Straygarden Place by Hayley Chewins (Foreword Indies Gold Winner for Juvenile Fiction)
The Turnaway Girls by Hayley Chewins (Amelia Bloomer List selection)
XOXO by Axie Oh
This is How We Fly by Anna Meriano
Idol Gossip by Alexandra Leigh Young
Summer of a Thousand Pies by Margaret Dilloway
Extraordinary Birds by Sandy Stark-McGinnis
Honeybees and Frenemies by Kristi Wientge
Digging In by Loretta Nyhan
This Earl of Mine by Kate Bateman
A Duchess a Day by Charis Michaels
MOST RECENT SALES/ FORTHCOMING BOOKS
Middle grade:

HONEYBEES AND FRENEMIES author Kristi Wientge's BEST FRIENDS, BIKINIS, AND OTHER SUMMER CATASTROPHES, in which a 12-year-old tomboy's grand plans to spend the summer building the world's most awesome treehouse with her best friend seem ruined when he gets his first-ever crush on a popular girl from their school, until she slowly starts to realize that maybe this other girl doesn't have to be her rival but could be a potential new friend, to Liz Kossnar at Simon & Schuster Children's, with Krista Vitola editing, for publication in summer 2022, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (world).

Author of SUMMER OF A THOUSAND PIES and FIVE THINGS ABOUT AVA ANDREWS Margaret Dilloway's WHERE THE SKY LIVES, in which a 12-year-old amateur astronomer who lives with her ranger mom in Zion National Park gets involved in conservation efforts when a nearby open-space private preserve sells to a developer, threatening not only her clear view of the stars but also the endangered animals that live there, to Kristin Daly Rens at Balzer & Bray, for publication in 2022, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (world English).

Young adult:

Author of COOL FOR THE SUMMER and the forthcoming HOME FIELD ADVANTAGE Dahlia Adler's GOING BICOASTAL, pitched as a bi Sliding Doors, following a Jewish teen through two versions of the summer before senior year, one in NYC (with a cute girl) and one in L.A. (with a cute boy); and MY NAME IS EVERETT, a sunshine-meets-grump boarding school romance pitched as BEACH READ meets FOOLISH HEARTS, to Vicki Lame at Wednesday Books, in a very nice deal, in an exclusive submission, in a two-book deal, for publication in summer 2023 and summer 2024, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (NA).

Debut author Claire Forrest's WHERE YOU SEE YOURSELF, following a high school senior who is a wheelchair user as she navigates senior class traditions, internal and external ableism, and a blossoming romance, all while going on a series of college admissions visits across the country that force her to think about where she best fits in and who she wants to be, to Emily Seife at Scholastic, in a very nice deal, in a two-book deal, for publication in 2023, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (world).

Playwright and performing artist Kirya Traber's untitled debut novel, set on the rural Redwood coast of Northern California in the 1990s, in which a teen girl begins to question everything she thinks she knows when a new boy, the only other Black person around for miles, appears in town shortly after the body of a stranger is discovered in the woods, to Andrew Karre at Dutton Children's, in an exclusive submission, for publication in 2023, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (world English).

Composer Edward Underhill's debut ALWAYS THE ALMOST, about a trans classical pianist who resolves to spend his junior year winning back his ex-boyfriend and defeating his arch-nemesis at the biggest piano competition of the year, only to have his carefully-laid plans in both love and music disrupted when a new boy moves to town and makes a play for his heart, pitched as for fans of Becky Albertalli and Phil Stamper, to Sylvan Creekmore at Wednesday Books, in a very nice deal, in a two-book deal, for publication in spring 2023, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (world).

Author of the National Book Award finalist and Printz Honoree EVERY BODY LOOKING and the forthcoming BREAK THIS HOUSE Candice Iloh's SALT THE WATER, a novel-in-verse about a free-spirited genderfluid teen who drops out of twelfth grade after a confrontation with a teacher, but when a family crisis forces them to suddenly take on immense adult responsibilities, their dreams of living life off the grid with their friends crash into the harsh realities of a world full of roadblocks at every turn, to Andrew Karre at Dutton Children's, for publication in 2023, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (world English).

Dahlia Adler and Jennifer Iacopelli, eds.'s OUT OF OUR LEAGUE, an anthology of contemporary short stories about girls in sports, featuring stories from Carrie Allen, Sara Farizan, Juliana Goodman, Maggie Hall, Leah Henderson, Sarah Henning, Naomi Kanakia, Miranda Kenneally, Yamille Saied Mendez, Cam Montgomery, Marieke Nijkamp, Amparo Ortiz, Aminah Mae Safi, and Kayla Whaley, to Rachel Diebel at Feiwel and Friends, for publication in summer 2023, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency for Adler and Chloe Seager at Madeleine Milburn Literary Agency for Iacopelli (world).

Metis/white author and creative writing professor Jen Ferguson's THE SUMMER OF BITTER & SWEET, a debut in which a demisexual Metis teen is settling in to spend the summer before college working at her close-knit family's small-town ice cream shack with her best friend, ex-boyfriend, and newly back-in-town crush, when a letter from her white biological father, recently out of prison, threatens to destroy everything she cares about, to Rosemary Brosnan and Cynthia Leitich Smith at Heartdrum, in a significant deal, in a pre-empt, in a two-book deal, for publication in summer 2022, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (world English).

Dahlia Adler ed.'s AT MIDNIGHT, a collection of classic fairy tales reimagined by authors Melissa Albert, Tracy Deonn, H.E. Edgmon, Hafsah Faizal, Stacey Lee, Roselle Lim, Darcie Little Badger, Malinda Lo, Alex London, Anna-Marie McLemore, Rebecca Podos, Rory Power, Meredith Russo, and Gita Trelease, to Sarah Barley at Flatiron Books, for publication in fall 2022, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (world).

Tulsa Artist Fellow Juliana Goodman's THE BLACK GIRLS LEFT STANDING, a debut mystery pitched as inspired by #SayHerName, in which a Black teen girl's world is upended when her older sister is killed by a white cop who claims she was breaking into his house; desperate to find out what really happened, she sets out to find the only other witness who was there that night—her sister's boyfriend, who has gone missing, to Kat Brzozowski at Feiwel and Friends, in a very nice deal, in a two-book deal, for publication in winter 2022, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (world English).

Adult:

Charis Michaels's HIDDEN ROYALS, a Regency romance series in which three secretly royal siblings, smuggled into England as children and stashed in various out-of-the-way corners of the country to keep them safe from palace unrest at home, reckon with their true identities as prince and princesses—and each one finds true love, to Erika Tsang at Avon, with Sylvan Creekmore editing, in a three-book deal, by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (world).

SUB-AGENTS/ RIGHTS CONTACTS
Taryn Fagerness Agency (foreign rights)
www.tarynfagernessagency.com
SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS
Patricia is currently closed to queries except by referral. She will reopen in early 2023.
thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail