Publishers Marketplace
   home
   site guide
   help
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
   rights postings
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

#1 National Bestseller! | NYT, USA Today, WSJ, PW, ABA Indie | The unforgettable story of four orphans who travel the Mississippi River on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression.
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .


#1 Amazon Bestseller! "This is a spellbinding page-turner of a book." -Kristin Hannah, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Four Winds.
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

This site is a service of Publishers Lunch, the e-mail newsletter known as "publishing's essential daily read." Join the thousands of people who read Lunch every day.
agent : mail@browneandmiller.com
Danielle Egan-Miller
Browne & Miller Literary Associates
illustration
Coming August 24, 2021 from Atria Books

Founded in 1971 by Jane Jordan Browne, Browne & Miller Literary Associates specializes in full-service representation of a select clientele. I have been owner and president of the agency since 2003.

I'm an intrepid reader, my taste is very eclectic, and I look for exceptional writing and very fine storytelling. My roster includes several New York Times bestselling authors, numerous prize- and award-winning writers, and many talented debut novelists. I am always interested in promising new voices and those kinds of books that draw me in, fully capture my attention, and then hold it until the very last page. If my heart races a little bit along the way, all the better.

Browne & Miller is OPEN TO QUERIES! For 2021, I am most interested in the following:

Fiction:
I'm partial, always, to Midwestern voices and Midwestern settings.

Uplifting stories, contemporary or historical.

Character-driven crime novels and psychological thrillers including highly original family dramas, domestic suspense stories, and tales with surprising bents and diabolical twists. I've read so many great thrillers during the pandemic and I am definitely on the lookout for something tense and twisty!

Gothic/Gothic-styled book club fiction, contemporary or historical. Gothic fiction is a personal favorite.

Mid Century-set women’s (historical) fiction. We’re moving past WWII.

I have a specific interest in commercial/book club fiction, contemporary or historical, by Native American authors.

A New Orleans-set literary-leaning mystery/thriller.

Anything about Oona O'Neill Chaplin – I am fascinated by her story.

Clever, voice-driven Millennial and (adult) Gen Z rom-coms

Non-fiction:
Modern mind/body/spirit projects that marry an urban sensibility with practical simplicity. I’d love a book about meditative walking, for example.

Elegantly written narrative non-fiction by nationally-recognized authors.

Forgotten stories, lost histories, slices of (dark) Americana, in the vein of the late Lee Sandlin or Erik Larson.

I love Old Hollywood and anything about American family dynasties, especially stories about high society behaving badly.

I also love rock-n-roll stories. I’m a longtime Dead Head, so take that for what it is.

I'm a dog lover (and dog owner), so I'd be open to a great dog memoir, especially if it stars a Scottish Terrier.

My White Whales (i.e. book ideas relentlessly pursued over a long period of time, but I still haven’t found them. The quest continues!)
An expertly-crafted, Chicago-set historical thriller in the vein of The Alienist.
A golf-themed mystery. An ideal protagonist might be a golf pro.
The next The Thorn Birds.
The next V.C. Andrews.

Sorry, but Browne & Miller is no longer accepting submissions of (Adult) Memoirs or of Young Adult fiction; no children's books of any kind; and I do not represent genre horror, sci fi/fantasy, or screenplays. I am also not interested in books that have already been self-published.

Send to mail@browneandmiller.com


years experience: 25+
GENRES & SPECIALTIES
General fiction, Mystery, Romance, Suspense/thriller, Biography, History, Religious, Mind/body/spirit, Health, Lifestyle, Cookbooks, Sports, Science
LEADING CLIENTS
Nicole Baart; Emily Belden; Arnie Bernstein; Elizabeth Blackwell; Sherrill Bodine; Kylie Brant; Sandra Byrd; Lyn Cote; Sandra Dallas; Jo Furniss; Angela Hunt; Sandy James; William Kent Krueger; Iain Lawrence; Sandi Lynn; Amy Sue Nathan; Marta Perry; Francine Rivers;The Estate of Lee Sandlin; Jack Zipes; T.I. Lowe; Kimberly Brock; Leslie Liautaud; Megan Chance; Kate Belli; Julie Tollefson; Finola Austin; Kelsey Blodget; Nicole Lundrigan; A.H. Kim
BEST-KNOWN PROJECTS
* Redeeming Love by three-time Rita Award winner, RWA Hall of Fame member and New York Times bestselling Francine Rivers
* Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger, 2014 Edgar Award winner for Best Novel
* This Tender Land by William Kent Krueger, #1 National Bestseller
* In the Shadow of Lakecrest by Elizabeth Blackwell, a #1 Amazon bestseller
* All the Little Children by Jo Furniss, an Amazon Charts and #1 Amazon bestseller
* Pretty Girls Dancing by Kylie Brant, an Amazon Charts and #1 Amazon bestseller
* Gemini Summer by Iain Lawrence, winner of the 2007 Canadian Governor General's Literary Award for Children's Literature
*"...And Ladies of the Club" by Helen Hooven Santmyer, #1 New York Times bestseller
MOST RECENT SALES/ FORTHCOMING BOOKS
A SPLENDID RUIN by MEGAN CHANCE (Lake Union Publishing W21); A SECRET AMISH CRUSH by MARTA PERRY (Harlequin/Love Inspired W21); DEADMAN'S CASTLE by IAIN LAWRENCE (Holiday House SP21); UNDER THE MAGNOLIAS by T.I.LOWE (Tyndale House SP21); A WOMAN OF WORDS By ANGELA HUNT (Bethany House SP21); LIGHTNING STRIKE by William Kent Krueger (Atria Books SU21); BETRAYAL ON THE BOWERY by KATE BELLI (Crooked Lane Books F21); A HARVEST OF LOVE by MARTA PERRY (Berkley F21); EVERYTHING WE DIDN'T SAY by NICOLE BAART (Atria Books F21);THE DISINHERITED by FRANCINE RIVERS (Tyndale House W22); LITTLE SOULS by SANDRA DALLAS (St. Martin's Press SP22); ASHES TO ASHES by IAIN LAWRENCE (Holiday House SP22); HEIRLOOMS by SANDRA BYRD (Tyndale House SU22); WELL BEHAVED WIVES by AMY SUE NATHAN (Lake Union Publishing F22); THE POISON IN THE PICTURE by KATE BELLI (Crooked Lane Books F22)
MOST RECENT RIGHTS SALES
June 1, 2021 -AN UNTHINKABLE THING by NICOLE LUNDRIGAN
International rights: Canada Fiction / Mystery/Crime
2020 Arthur Ellis Award finalist for Best Novel for HIDEWAY Nicole Lundrigan's AN UNTHINKABLE THING, pitched in the vein of Lisa Jewell and Shari Lapena, a midcentury-set thriller about an 11-year-old boy put on trial for the brutal murders of his housekeeper mother's wealthy employers, to Lara Hinchberger at Viking Canada, in a two-book deal, for publication in spring 2022, by Danielle Egan-Miller at Browne & Miller Literary Associates.

February 26, 2021 - THE POISON IN THE PICTURE by KATE BELLI
Fiction: Mystery/Crime
Author of DECEPTION BY GASLIGHT Kate Belli's THE POISON IN THE PICTURE, book three in the Gilded Gotham Mystery series, in which the chemistry between a socialite journalist and a millionaire bachelor lawyer crackles in old New York as the amateur sleuths investigate the murder of a prominent artist's model; aided by a rebel heiress fallen from fortune who now scandalously poses for artists as well, the race to catch the killer takes the duo from the broad lawns of Newport's famed summer cottages to the novel attractions of Coney Island, to Faith Black Ross at Crooked Lane, in a nice deal, by Danielle Egan-Miller at Browne & Miller Literary Associates (world).

February 2, 2021 - MARTA PERRY
Fiction: Women's/Romance
Marta Perry's THE SECOND CHRISTMAS, the first book in a new Promise Glen series celebrating the love and holidays that bind the Amish community together, to Sarah Blumenstock at Berkley, in a three-book deal, for publication in fall 2022, by Danielle Egan-Miller at Browne & Miller Literary Associates (world English).

December 2, 2020 - SANDRA DALLAS
Fiction: General/Other
Author of WESTERING WOMEN and 2020 winner of Western Writers of America's Spur Award Sandra Dallas's LITTLE SOULS, set in Denver during the 1918 Spanish Flu epidemic; when a man ends up dead in their kitchen, two sisters make a pact to conceal a murder, with unexpected consequences; and WHERE COYOTES HOWL, an ode to the early 20th-century West told through the love story of a High Plains cowboy and a Wyoming school teacher, to Elisabeth Dyssegaard at St. Martin's, in a good deal, in an exclusive submission, in a two-book deal, by Danielle Egan-Miller at Browne & Miller Literary Associates (NA).

November 6, 2020 - WILLIAM KENT KRUEGER
Fiction: General/Other
William Kent Krueger's CORK O'CONNOR books 20 & 21 and an untitled standalone, two new entries in the author's long-running mystery series, along with a standalone novel, an American family epic in the style of Krueger's previous standalones Ordinary Grace and THIS TENDER LAND, to Peter Borland at Atria, in a major deal, in a three-book deal, by Danielle Egan-Miller at Browne & Miller Literary Associates (world).

SPECIALIZED TRAINING, WORK EXPERIENCE, HONORS
The late Jane Jordan Browne started the agency in 1971, after holding editorial positions with numerous NYC publishers. A founding member of the Board of Directors of the Illinois Center for the Book, Ms. Browne was also on the board of the Modern Poetry Association, and a member of the AAR, RWA, MWA and SCBWI. She remained active in the agency until her death in early 2003.

Danielle Egan-Miller held several editor positions before joining the agency as Jane Jordan Browne's partner in 2002; she became owner and president of the agency in 2003. She is a graduate of Loyola University of Chicago and of the Radcliffe Publishing Course. She is also a member of the AALA, MWA, and The Author's Guild.

SUB-AGENTS/ RIGHTS CONTACTS
Please note that most of our foreign licensing for Christian fiction is handled in-house.

ALBANIA, BULGARIA, SERBIA & MONTENEGRO
ANA Sofia

BALTICS - Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia
ANA Baltic

BRAZIL
Agencia RIFF

CHINA, Mainland
Big Apple Agency, Inc.

CHINA, TAIWAN
Big Apple Agency, Inc.

CZECH REPUBLIC, SLOVAK REPUBLIC & SLOVENIA
ANA Prague

FRANCE
Agence Eliane Benisti

GERMANY
Thomas Schlueck Agency

HUNGARY & CROATIA
ANA Budapest

ISRAEL
The Book Publishers Association of Israel

ITALY
Natoli, Stefan & Oliva

JAPAN
The English Agency Japan
Japan Uni Agency
Tuttle-Mori Agency

KOREA
Eric Yang Agency
rMaeng2 (Christian Titles)

NETHERLANDS & SCANDINAVIA
Sebes & Bisseling

POLAND
Macadamia Literary Agency

ROMANIA
International Copyright Agency Ltd.

RUSSIA
Synopsis Literary Agency

SPAIN, PORTUGAL & LATIN AMERICA
Julio F-Yañez Agencia Literaria

TURKEY
Nurcihan Kesim Literary Agency

UNITED KINGDOM
Direct

KEY PERSONNEL
Mariana Fisher, Foreign Rights Agent
Mariana@browneandmiller.com

Scott Miller, Vice President, Business Affairs
scott@browneandmiller.com

Ellie Roth, Assistant to the President
Assistant2DEM@browneandmiller.com

SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS
Query to mail@browneandmiller.com. Query only, as we do not read unsolicited materials and we do not open email attachments. NO Sci-fi/Fantasy, Horror, Memoirs, Young Adult or children's books! NO previously self-published books! We reply as quickly as possible!
thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail