Publishers Marketplace
   home
   site guide
   help
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
   rights postings
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Coming August 4th from Atria Books!
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .


The classic story that has captured the hearts of millions worldwide!
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

This site is a service of Publishers Lunch, the e-mail newsletter known as "publishing's essential daily read." Join the thousands of people who read Lunch every day.
agent : mail@browneandmiller.com
Danielle Egan-Miller
Browne & Miller Literary Associates
illustration
Instant National Bestseller! | NYT, USA Today, WSJ, PW, ABA Indie | #1 Pick Indie Next List | LibraryReads Pick | Book of the Month Selection | September 2019 Atria Books

Founded in 1971 by Jane Jordan Browne, Browne & Miller Literary Associates specializes in full-service representation of a select clientele. I have been owner and president of the agency since 2003.

I'm an intrepid reader, my taste is very eclectic, and I look for exceptional writing and very fine storytelling. My roster includes several New York Times bestselling authors, numerous prize- and award-winning writers, and many talented debut novelists. I am always interested in promising new voices and those kinds of books that draw me in, fully capture my attention, and then hold it until the very last page. If my heart races a little bit along the way, all the better.

Browne & Miller is currently closed to queries; our mailbox will re-open in early 2020!


years experience: 25+
GENRES & SPECIALTIES
General fiction, Mystery, Romance, Suspense/thriller, Biography, History, Religious, Mind/body/spirit, Health, Lifestyle, Cookbooks, Sports, Science
LEADING CLIENTS
Nicole Baart; Emily Belden; Arnie Bernstein; Elizabeth Blackwell; Sherrill Bodine; Kylie Brant; Sandra Byrd; Lyn Cote; Sandra Dallas; Jo Furniss; Angela Hunt; Sandy James; William Kent Krueger; Iain Lawrence; Sandi Lynn; Amy Sue Nathan; Marta Perry; Francine Rivers; Roxanne Rustand; The Estate of Lee Sandlin; Jack Zipes; T.I. Lowe; Kimberly Brock; Leslie Liautaud; Megan Chance; Kate Belli; Julie Tollefson; Finola Austin; Kelsey Blodget; Nicole Lundrigan
BEST-KNOWN PROJECTS
* Redeeming Love by three-time Rita Award winner, RWA Hall of Fame member and New York Times bestselling Francine Rivers
* Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger, 2014 Edgar Award winner for Best Novel
* In the Shadow of Lakecrest by Elizabeth Blackwell, a #1 Amazon bestseller
* All the Little Children by Jo Furniss, an Amazon Charts and #1 Amazon bestseller
* Pretty Girls Dancing by Kylie Brant, an Amazon Charts and #1 Amazon bestseller
* Gemini Summer by Iain Lawrence, winner of the 2007 Canadian Governor General's Literary Award for Children's Literature
*"...And Ladies of the Club" by Helen Hooven Santmyer
MOST RECENT SALES/ FORTHCOMING BOOKS
HUSBAND MATERIAL by EMILY BELDEN (Harlequin/Graydon House F19/W20); WESTERING WOMEN by SANDRA DALLAS (St. Martin's Press W20); THE AMISH WIDOW'S HEART by MARTA PERRY (Harlequin/Love Inspired W20); AMISH PROTECTOR by MARTA PERRY (Harlequin/HQN W20); DAUGHTER OF CANA by ANGELA HUNT (Bethany House SP20); THE LAST BATHING BEAUTY by AMY SUE NATHAN (Lake Union Publishing SP20); BEACH HAVEN by T.I. Lowe (Tyndale House SP20); RED MISTRESS by ELIZABETH BLACKWELL (Lake Union Publishing SU20); DRIFTWOOD DREAMS by T.I. LOWE (Tyndale House SU20); SEA GLASS CASTLE by T.I. LOWE (Tyndale House SU20); BRONTE'S MISTRESS by FINOLA AUSTIN (Atria Books SU20);THE LAST TO KNOW by JO FURNISS (Lake Union Publishing F20); A PATH TO REDEEMING LOVE: A 40-DAY DEVOTIONAL by FRANCINE RIVERS (WaterBrook Multnomah F20); REDEEMING LOVE: THE COMPANION STUDY by FRANCINE RIVERS (WaterBrook Multnomah F20); DECEPTION BY GASLIGHT by KATE BELLI (Crooked Lane Books F20)
MOST RECENT RIGHTS SALES
November 20, 2019 - THE DISINHERITED by Francine Rivers
Fiction: General/Other
THE MASTERPIECE and REDEEMING LOVE author Francine Rivers's THE DISINHERITED, revisiting her romance roots in this 1870s California-set epic love story starring a feisty, ahead-of-her-time suffragette and newspaper publisher who forms a complicated relationship with a former Union soldier from a Southern family, to Karen Watson at Tyndale, in a major deal, for publication in 2022, by Danielle Egan-Miller at Browne & Miller Literary Associates (world English).Translation: mariana@browneandmiller.com

November 19, 2019 - WELL BEHAVED WIVES by AMY SUE NATHAN
Digital: Fiction: Women's/ Romance
Author of THE LAST BATHING BEAUTY Amy Sue Nathan's WELL BEHAVED WIVES, set in 1962 against the backdrop of burgeoning political and social change and pitched as in the vein of Mad Men and The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, in which four young housewives form an unbreakable bond at The Finishing School for Businessmen's Wives where they learn much more than etiquette, ultimately saving one of their own from domestic abuse, to Jodi Warshaw at Lake Union Publishing, in an exclusive submission, by Danielle Egan-Miller at Browne & Miller Literary Associates (world).

September 25, 2019 - A PATH TO REDEEMING LOVE and REDEEMING LOVE: THE STUDY by Francine Rivers
Non-fiction: Religion/Spirituality
Francine Rivers's A PATH TO REDEEMING LOVE: A 40-DAY DEVOTIONAL and REDEEMING LOVE: THE STUDY, the first-ever companion products to the author's perennial bestseller REDEEMING LOVE, to Shannon Marchese at Multnomah, in a six-figure deal, in a two-book deal, for publication in August 2020 (world English).
Rights: mariana@browneandmiller.com

September 17, 2019 - DECEPTION BY GASLIGHT, by Kate Belli
Fiction: Mystery/Crime
Kate Belli's debut DECEPTION BY GASLIGHT, the first book in the Gilded Gotham Mystery series; set in the dodgy back alleys and the glamorous ballrooms of Old New York, starring an ambitious Astor 400 girl with a journalism career in her sights and a mysterious socially conscious lawyer who also happens to be the city's most eligible bachelor as they join forces to catch a high society jewel thief and solve a few murders, all while trying to resist their undeniable chemistry, to Faith Black Ross at Crooked Lane, in a two-book deal, for publication in 2020 (world).

September 16, 2019 - POOR RELATIONS, by Megan Chance
Digital: Fiction: General
Author of BONE RIVER Megan Chance's POOR RELATIONS, a tale of a young woman's reinvention and revenge set against the backdrop the 1906 San Francisco earthquake, pitched with nods to both Edith Wharton and Gaslight, to Jodi Warshaw at Lake Union Publishing, in an exclusive submission, for publication in winter 2021 (world).

July 18, 2019 - DEADMAN'S CASTLE and ASHES TO ASHES, by Iain Lawrence
Children's: Middle Grade Fiction
Canadian Governor General's Award winner for GEMINI SUMMER Iain Lawrence's DEADMAN'S CASTLE, a thriller about a 12 year-old boy who has grown up in the witness protection program and what happens when he's forced to face what has kept his family on the run for so many years, and ASHES TO ASHES, a survival story pitched in the vein of HATCHET and the author's own THE SKELETON TREE, starring a 10-year-old boy separated from his family on a camping trip and set against the backdrop of a massive advancing wildfire, to Margaret Ferguson at Margaret Ferguson Books, in a two-book deal (world English, China). Translation: Mariana@browneandmiller.com

April 12, 2019 BRONTE'S MISTRESS by Finola Austin
Fiction: Debut
Oxford graduate and blogger Finola Austin's BRONTE'S MISTRESS, based on the true and untold story of Lydia Robinson and her affair with Branwell Bronte, giving voice to the courageous, flawed, complex woman who some viewed as the "wicked" elder seductress who corrupted the younger Bronte brother, driving him to an early grave and precipitating the downfall of the entire Bronte family, to Daniella Wexler at Atria, in a pre-empt, for publication in 2020 (world English).
Translation: mariana@browneandmiller.com

January 9, 2019 - CORK O'CONNOR MYSTERY #18 and #19 by William Kent Krueger
Fiction: Mystery/Crime
Edgar Award winner for ORDINARY GRACE and NYT bestselling DESOLATION MOUNTAIN William Kent Krueger's CORK O'CONNOR MYSTERY #18 and #19, to Peter Borland at Atria, in a significant deal, in an exclusive submission, in a two-book deal (world). Audio rights to Troy Juliar at Recorded Books, in a six-figure deal. Film/TV: joel@ipglm.com

January 9, 2019 - WESTERING WOMEN by Sandra Dallas
Fiction: General/Other
NYT bestselling author Sandra Dallas's WESTERING WOMEN, an anthemic testament to the power of female friendship, about a young seamstress in 1850s Chicago who signs on to a California-bound wagon train filled with husband-seeking women as a means of escape, but soon discovers she's not the only one looking to leave dark secrets behind; when her past catches up with her, it becomes clear a band of sisters will do whatever it takes to protect one of their own, to Elisabeth Dyssegaard at St. Martin's, in a very nice deal, in an exclusive submission (NA).

SPECIALIZED TRAINING, WORK EXPERIENCE, HONORS
The late Jane Jordan Browne started the agency in 1971, after holding editorial positions with numerous NYC publishers. A founding member of the Board of Directors of the Illinois Center for the Book, Ms. Browne was also on the board of the Modern Poetry Association, and a member of the AAR, RWA, MWA and SCBWI. She remained active in the agency until her death in early 2003.

Danielle Egan-Miller held several editor positions before joining the agency as Jane Jordan Browne's partner in 2002; she became owner and president of the agency in 2003. She is a graduate of Loyola University of Chicago and of the Radcliffe Publishing Course. She is also a member of the AAR, MWA, RWA,and The Author's Guild.

SUB-AGENTS/ RIGHTS CONTACTS
Please note that most of our foreign licensing for Christian fiction is handled in-house.

ALBANIA, BULGARIA, SERBIA & MONTENEGRO
ANA Sofia

BALTICS - Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia
ANA Baltic

BRAZIL
Agencia RIFF

CHINA, Mainland
Big Apple Agency, Inc.

CHINA, TAIWAN
Big Apple Agency, Inc.

CZECH REPUBLIC, SLOVAK REPUBLIC & SLOVENIA
ANA Prague

FRANCE
Agence Eliane Benisti

GERMANY
Thomas Schlueck Agency

HUNGARY & CROATIA
ANA Budapest

ISRAEL
The Book Publishers Association of Israel

ITALY
Natoli, Stefan & Oliva

JAPAN
The English Agency Japan
Japan Uni Agency
Tuttle-Mori Agency

KOREA
Eric Yang Agency
rMaeng2 (Christian Titles)

NETHERLANDS & SCANDINAVIA
Sebes & Bisseling

POLAND
Macadamia Literary Agency

ROMANIA
International Copyright Agency Ltd.

RUSSIA
Synopsis Literary Agency

SPAIN, PORTUGAL & LATIN AMERICA
Julio F-Yañez Agencia Literaria

TURKEY
Nurcihan Kesim Literary Agency

UNITED KINGDOM
Direct

KEY PERSONNEL
Mariana Fisher, Foreign Rights Agent
Mariana@browneandmiller.com

Scott Miller, Vice President, Business Affairs
scott@browneandmiller.com

Ellie Roth, Assistant to the President
Assistant2DEM@browneandmiller.com

SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS
Query to mail@browneandmiller.com. Query only, as we do not read unsolicited materials and we do not open email attachments. NO Sci-fi/Fantasy, Horror, Memoirs, Young Adult or children's books! We reply as quickly as possible!
thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail