Publishers Marketplace
   home
   site guide
   help
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
   rights postings
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

On Netflix 12/21/2018
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

This site is a service of Publishers Lunch, the e-mail newsletter known as "publishing's essential daily read." Join the thousands of people who read Lunch every day.
agent : info@nelsonagency.com
Kristin Nelson
Nelson Literary Agency, LLC
1732 Wazee Street, Suite 207, Denver, CO 80202
303.292.2805
http://www.nelsonagency.com
twitter: http://www.twitter.com/agentkristinNLA
illustration

My goal as an agent is simple: I want every client of mine to make a living solely from writing, and 90% of my authors do without help from any other source of income. I'm President and owner of Nelson Literary Agency, LLC, which I founded in 2002. Over the last decade and a half, I've represented over forty New York Times bestselling titles and dozens of USA Today bestsellers. Although I'm a very nice Midwesterner, I heard through the grapevine that editors call me "a hard-working bulldog agent that will fight for you." What a compliment!

I currently specialize in representing literary crossover novels with one foot firmly in a genre, literary commercial novels, upmarket women's fiction, smart romantic comedies, historical fiction, character-driven thrillers, science fiction and fantasy, all subgenres of young adult/middle grade.

When not busy selling books, I'm quite sporty. I attempt to play tennis and golf. I also love playing Bridge (where I'm the youngest person in the club). On weekends my husband Brian and I can be found in the mountains with our 15-year old rat terrier, Chutney.

You might also be interested in the other agents at NLA:

Danielle Burby

Joanna MacKenzie

QuressaRobinson

Other Links:
My popular blog: Pub Rants

Facebook: Agent Kristin


years experience: 15+
GENRES & SPECIALTIES
General fiction, Romance, Fantasy/science fiction, Juvenile fiction, Literary Crossover, Literary commercial, Women's fiction, Young Adult & Middle Grade
TRADE REFERENCES
Member:
Association of Authors' Representatives (AAR)
Romance Writers of America (RWA)
Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA)
Society of Children’s Book Writers & Illustrators (SCBWI)
LEADING CLIENTS
Click for a list of all:
BEST-KNOWN PROJECTS
Adult Authors
HOTEL ON THE CORNER OF BITTER & SWEET by Jamie Ford
WOOL Trilogy, SAND, BEACON 23 by Hugh Howey
THE FOURTH MONKEY by J.D. Barker
BIRD BOX by Josh Malerman
PARASOL PROTECTORATE Series by Gail Carriger
THE LADY SHERLOCK Series by Sherry Thomas

Children's
GALLAGHER GIRL Series and EMBASSY ROW Series by Ally Carter
LEGEND Trilogy and Warcross Series by Marie Lu
UNDER A PAINTED SKY, OUTRUN THE MOON by Stacey Lee
NYXIA Triad by Scott Reintgen
PERFECT CHEMISTRY Series by Simone Elkeles
FINISHING SCHOOL Series by Gail Carriger
THE BURNING SKY Trilogy by Sherry Thomas

MOST RECENT SALES/ FORTHCOMING BOOKS
NYT bestselling authors Stephen King and Richard Chizmar's GWENDY'S FINAL TASK, the last installment of the trilogy where Gwendy must journey from Castle Rock to a faraway destination to execute a secret mission to save the world—and, maybe, all worlds, to Ed Schlesinger at Gallery, in a significant deal, in an exclusive submission, for publication in May 2022, with Cemetery Dance releasing the hardcover in February 2022, by Kristin Nelson at Nelson Literary Agency for Chizmar and Chuck Verrill of Darhansoff & Verrill for King (NA)

Shelby Van Pelt's debut REMARKABLY BRIGHT CREATURES, in which a grieving widow befriends a curmudgeonly giant Pacific octopus, a very reluctant resident of the Sowell Bay Aquarium; when a grifter comes to town, the three unlock a truth tied to her son's disappearance 30 years ago; pitched as for fans of My Octopus Teacher and Kevin Wilson, to Helen Atsma at Ecco, in a major deal, at auction, for publication in Spring 2022, by Kristin Nelson at Nelson Literary Agency (NA.)

Author of THE DOWNSTAIRS GIRL Stacey Lee's WINSTON CHU VERSUS THE WHIMSIES, pitched as a humorous modern-day reimagining of a classic Chinese folktale where Winston Chu saves the owner of a curiosities shop from a robbery only to be gifted a broomstick and a dustpan for his trouble —items that turn out to be more a curse than a blessing when they sweep away important stuff, like his baby sister, to Stephanie Lurie at Rick Riordan Presents, in a significant deal, in an exclusive submission, in a two-book deal, for publication in fall 2022.

USA Today bestselling author Sherry Thomas's untitled books 6 & 7 in the LADY SHERLOCK MYSTERY series, featuring a ruined young woman in Victorian England solving cases as Sherlock Holmes, to Kerry Donovan at Berkley in a good two-book deal, by Kristin Nelson.

Scott Reintgen's untitled book three in the TALESPINNERS series, featuring the adventures of Indira Story as she goes undercover at Antagonist Academy at the request of a secret faction known as the Anti-Heroes, to Emily Easton at Crown Children’s, by Kristin Nelson.

New York Times Bestselling author of Hotel On the Corner of Bitter & Sweet, Jamie Ford’s novel TOMORROW DOROTHY, which follows five generations of women in one family and shows how trauma runs through the generations until one mother, Dorothy, dares to break the pattern of this dangerous inheritance to save her daughter, to Lindsay Sagnette at Atria, in a major deal at auction.

MOST RECENT RIGHTS SALES
FILM/TV rights to Award-winning author Stacey Lee’s UNDER A PAINTED SKY, a young adult western Thelma & Louise, in which a Chinese girl and a house slave disguise themselves as cowboys to run from the law, seek revenge for a murder, and find freedom in the California Gold Rush frontier to Fremantle for series, by Kristin Nelson of Nelson Literary Agency, Alice Lawson at The Gersh Agency, and attorney Wayne Alexander. 

FILM/TV Rights to New York Times Bestselling author Josh Malerman’s BLACK MAD WHEEL, a psychological horror that follows a washed-up band called The Danes who are tapped by the US ARMY to track an ominous and strange noise in the desert— a trip that takes the band into the heart of a twisted conspiracy, to Ridley Scott’s Scott Free Productions and Sean O’Grady and Bill Stertz producing for Atlas Industries, and with Barnette Brettler on board to write the screenplay, by Kristin Nelson of Nelson Literary Agency, producer Ryan Lewis, and attorney Wayne Alexander.

TV Rights to New York Times Bestselling author Hugh Howey’s WOOL, the first book in the Silo Series, for development as a TV series by LaToya Morgan (Shameless, Badlands, Parenthood); Morgan will executive produce the project in addition to writing the pilot and Howey is also attached as a producer, by Kristin Nelson of Nelson Literary Agency, Kassie Evashevski at Anonymous Content, and attorney Wayne Alexander.

FILM Rights to New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu’s LEGEND Series to BDCF Pictures with Claude Dal Farra, Brice Dal Farra, Brian Keady producing (Bachelorette, The Language of Flowers), and screenwriter Joseph Muszynski adapting, by Kristin Nelson of Nelson Literary Agency, Kassie Evashevski at Anonymous Content, and attorney Wayne Alexander.

FILM Rights to Dacre Stoker and  J.D. Barker’s DRACUL,the Bram Stoker Estate authorized first ever Dracula prequel, at auction to Paramount Studios with producers Roy Lee, Barbara Muschietti, and with director Andy Muschietti (Mama, It) attached, by Kristin Nelson of Nelson Literary Agency, Angela Cheng Caplan of Cheng Caplan Company Inc. and attorney Wayne Alexander. 

FILM Rights to New York Times bestselling author Jamie Ford’s debut novel, with over 2 million copies in print, HOTEL ON THE CORNER OF BITTER AND SWEET, to producers Diane Quon of Quonco Productions LLC and Joseph Craig of StemEnt, and Executive Producer George Takei attached, with Jamie Ford co-writing the screenplay, production anticipated to begin in Spring 2018, by Kristin Nelson of Nelson Literary Agency, Kassie Evashevski of United Talent Agency, and attorney Wayne Alexander.

TV Rights to New York Times & USA Today Bestselling author Jana DeLeon’s MISS FORTUNE 8-book Mystery Series, beginning with LOUISIANA LONGSHOT, pitched as a Miss Congeniality meets Golden Girls when a CIA assassin goes undercover as a beauty queen librarian to lay low in Sinful, Louisiana, stumbles into a murder, and has to team up with the group of elderly ladies dubbed The Geritol Mafia to solve it, to Executive Vice President Chris Parnell at Sony Pictures Television.

FILM/TV Rights to New York Times bestselling author Hugh Howey’s BEACON 23, a shell-shocked former soldier mans a lighthouse beacon for spaceships and must face his demons when the beacon fails endangering thousands of lives, to producer Brian Unkless and studio head Jeff Robinov at Studio 8 (Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk) for development in fall 2016.

SUB-AGENTS/ RIGHTS CONTACTS
UK & European Rights: Jenny Meyer, Jenny Meyer Literary Agency, jenny@meyerlit.com

Asia & Dramatic/Film Rights: info@nelsonagency.com

KEY PERSONNEL
Danielle Burby, Literary Agent
Joanna MacKenzie, Literary Agent
Quressa Robinson, Literary Agent
Brian Nelson, Chief Operating & Financial Officer
Angie Hodapp, Director of Literary Development
Samantha Cronin, Contracts Manager & Royalty Auditor
Maria Heater, Literary Assistant
Tallahj Curry, Literary Assistant
SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS
Please remember that NLA does not look at submissions for nonfiction (except Quressa), memoir, screenplays, short-story collections, poetry, gift or coffee table books, children’s picture books or early reader chapter books, or material for the Christian/inspirational market. Please review the Submission Guidelines for most up-to-date information as Agent Kristin often closes to general queries but will still accept referrals.

Queries Via Query Manager only: https://querymanager.com/query/1350

No snail mail submissions accepted.

.

thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail