Publishers Marketplace
   home
   site guide
   help
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
   rights postings
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
This site is a service of Publishers Lunch, the e-mail newsletter known as "publishing's essential daily read." Join the thousands of people who read Lunch every day.
agent : james.burns@thebrightagency.com
James Burns
Bright Group
50 West Street, C12, New York, NY 10006 US
6465779704
https://thebrightagency.com/us/publishing/agents/james-burns
illustration

James joined the bright agency in 2008. Since 2014 he has been VP Managing Agent for the Bright Agency (US). He represents a diverse roster of illustrators and author/illustrators. Many on his roster where unpublished at the time of signing on with him. James excels at working strategically to ensure long term success for his clients.

You can contact him at: James.burns@thebrightagency.com or @brightburnsny on instagram.


years experience: 10+
GENRES & SPECIALTIES
Children's books, Own voices, Non-fiction, Fiction
LEADING CLIENTS
Mechal Roe, Hatem Aly, Sibu T P, Nabi H Ali, Suzie Mason, Kathryn Durst, Gillian Flint,
BEST-KNOWN PROJECTS
• Mechal Roe illustrated NY Times Bestseller, SUPERHEROS ARE EVERYWHERE by KAMALA HARRIS published by Philomel
• Mechal Roe's debut author/illustrated book HAPPY HAIR published by Doubleday
• Suzie Mason illustrated NY Times Bestseller, I'VE LOVED YOU SINCE FOREVER by Hoda Kotb published by Harper Collins
• Nabi H Ali illustrated LAXMI'S MOOCH by Shelly Anand published by Kokila
SUB-AGENTS/ RIGHTS CONTACTS
Rights/Contracts - Sandra Tharumalingam Willmer - sandra@thebrightagency.com
Media Rights - Richard Scrivener - richard@thebrightagency.com
SUB-AGENT FOR
Publishing - Alex Gehringer - alex@thebrightagency.com
Licensing - Amy Fitzgerald - amy@thebrightagency.com
Advertising and editorial - Helen Biles - helen@thebrightagency.com
KEY PERSONNEL
Founder - Vicki Willden-Lebrecht - vicki@thebrightagency.com
Finance coordinator - Valerie Zelin - Valerie@thebrightagency.com
Marketing coordinator - Emmajane Turner - emmajane@thebrightagency.com
SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS
Artists & Author/Illustrators: Please send Instrgram, website or pdf of 10 strong children's book portfolio images to:
James.burns@thebrightagency.com

Please note, I do not represent authors who are not illustrators.