Publishers Marketplace
   home
   site guide
   help
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
   member search
   rights postings
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
This site is a service of Publishers Lunch, the e-mail newsletter known as "publishing's essential daily read." Join the thousands of people who read Lunch every day.
writer : ggoldhammer@gmail.com
Gary Goldhammer

Thirteen-year-old Jayden couldn’t wait to die. With her older sister, Zaria, looking on, Jayden eagerly entered her Wish – an artificial afterlife of her own making – before being executed as prescribed by Karshen’s Reaping law.

Zaria believed the Council's promise of an afterlife was a lie; it was just another instrument of control. Zaria was rational, practical. And dead was dead.

But Zaria experienced something after Jayden's Reaping that she couldn't explain. Something that mocked her beliefs.

Jayden’s Wish was real.

It was now up to Zaria, a rebellious Councilman and Death himself to find Jayden and learn whether Karshen, the last city remaining after a global extinction, had survived after all.

ZARIA’S GATE is a YA fantasy fiction novel that asks readers to question the nature of reality and confront the power of belief. Complete at 102,000 words, ZARIA’S GATE will appeal to fans of The Giver, Wool and The Alchemist (and pretty much anything written by Neil Gaiman.)

I hold a Bachelor’s degree in journalism and my work has appeared in local newspapers, The Associated Press and United Press International. My first book, a non-fiction examination of the death penalty titled Dead End, was published in 1994; I continue to write through my position as a creative director for a global marketing agency and on my professional blog, www.garygoldhammer.com.


years experience: 22

This writer is looking for an agent
SKILLS
Writing, Copywriting, Fiction writing
GENRES & SPECIALTIES
General fiction, Fantasy/science fiction
PROJECTS ON OFFER/ PROPOSALS AVAILABLE
Zaria's Gate -- a sci-fi meets spiritual fantasy fiction novel that asks readers to question the nature of reality and confront the power of faith. Complete at 102.000 words. Manuscript and synopsis available upon request.
SPECIALIZED TRAINING, WORK EXPERIENCE, HONORS
I am an experienced digital communications strategist with more than 22 years invested in integrated marketing campaigns, public relations and journalism. Yes, I've built and led regional/global operations and created innovative best-in-class programs for B2C and B2B companies in consumer products, technology, entertainment, retail, financial services, real estate and healthcare. My current and past clients include Adobe, eBay, HP, McKesson, Microsoft, Move.com, Capital Group, Netflix, Holiday Inn, Coca-Cola, Ford, Target and The Walt Disney Company.

My passion, however, is in storytelling and destroying the traditional silos of PR, marketing and advertising. You can learn more from my blog (www.garygoldhammer.com) or download my storytelling e-books and videos from my work experience details below.

I've been telling stories all my life. I've worked as a journalist for the Associated Press and United Press International, among others. I've written books on the death penalty and the media industry, and I've spoken internationally on storytelling and led workshops teaching clients how to craft emotional narratives that drive traffic as well as revenue.

Most importantly, I graduated in 1989 from the greatest journalism school on the face of the Earth – the University of Missouri. I'm currently writing my third book (a dystopian fiction novel) and also spend time biking, sending my college-age daughter money, and watching anything related to Doctor Who. Or Star Trek. Or Angels Baseball. And digressing. I do that a lot.