Publishers Marketplace
   home
   site guide
   help
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
   member search
   rights postings
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

The Bloodprint by Ausma Zehanat Khan (Harper Voyager, October 2017)
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .


UNCORKING A LIE by Nadine Nettmann (Midnight Ink, May 2017)
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

This site is a service of Publishers Lunch, the e-mail newsletter known as "publishing's essential daily read." Join the thousands of people who read Lunch every day.
agent : dburby@nelsonagency.com
Danielle Burby
Nelson Literary Agency
illustration
THE SALT HOUSE by Lisa Duffy (Touchstone, June 2017)

I moved to Nelson Literary Agency in January 2017 and am currently building a list of primarily YA and MG fiction. I will also consider select passion projects in upmarket women's fiction and mystery.

I gravitate toward stories with a high concept and strong voice. I particularly enjoy complex female characters, quirky/humorous adventures, narratives that explore social justice issues, stories with a sense of wonder, complicated family dynamics, girls with swords, and #ownvoices narratives. I find it hard to resist gorgeous writing and am a sucker for romantic plotlines that are an element of the narrative, but don't dominate it. Mainly, I'm looking to represent novels that keep me spellbound, no matter the genre.


GENRES & SPECIALTIES
General fiction, Mystery, Suspense/thriller, Fantasy/science fiction, Juvenile fiction
LEADING CLIENTS
Ausma Zehanat Khan, Mimi Cross, Nadine Nettmann, Lisa Duffy, Florence Gonsalves, Jeff Seymour
BEST-KNOWN PROJECTS
The Unquiet Dead, Before Goodbye, Decanting a Murder, Shining Sea, Your Body's Brilliant Design, The Bloodprint, Nadya Skylung and the Cloud Pirates
MOST RECENT SALES/ FORTHCOMING BOOKS
October 26, 2016
Fiction: Mystery/Crime
John Keyse-Walker's BEACH, BREEZE, BLOODSHED, in which the only police presence on the remote and idyllic Anegada, must solve a murder by shark on a neighboring island in the follow-up to SUN, SAND, MURDER, to Elizabeth Lacks at Minotaur, by Danielle Burby at Hannigan Salky Getzler (World English).

August 30, 2016
Children's:Young Adult
23-year-old Dartmouth graduate Florence Gonsalves' debut LOVE AND OTHER CARNIVOROUS PLANTS, featuring a narrative voice pitched as "Lena Dunham meets Sarah Dessen, with a dollop of Amy Schumer", in which a disillusioned nineteen-year-old takes a break from the pre-med grind at Harvard only to confront the risk of being consumed by her eating and anxiety disorders—and her growing affection toward an edgy, older girl, to Andrea Spoonerat Little, Brown Children's, at auction, in a two-book deal, for publication in Spring 2018, by Danielle Burby at Hannigan Salky Getzler (World English).

August 17, 2016
Children's: Middle grade
Jeff Seymour's NADYA SKYLUNG AND THE CLOUD PIRATES, the first in a series pitched as Howl's Moving Castle meets Keeper of the Lost Cities, in which a ragtag group of orphans, each with a special talent, serves as the crew of a flying ship and must save the day when their captain and teacher are kidnapped by a fearsome band of cloud pirates, to Katherine Perkins at Putnam Children's, in a two-book deal, by Danielle Burby at Hannigan Salky Getzler (World English).

May 26, 2016
Fiction:Debut
Pushcart Prize nominee and University of Massachusetts MFA grad Lisa Duffy's THE SALT HOUSE, set in the coastal Maine town of Alden, about a pivotal summer in the life of the Kelly family, whose intertwined stories explore the intricate puzzle that is grief and the confusing contradictions of love, to Etinosa Agbonlahor at Touchstone, for publication in Summer 2017, by Danielle Burby at Hannigan Salky Getzler (World English). Translation: dburby@hsgagency.com

March 16, 2016
Nonfiction: Health
Karen Gabler's YOUR BODY'S BRILLIANT DESIGN, an accessible book that focuses on the link between fascia and chronic pain and provides a series of exercises from the Gabler Sustainable Body Method for melting the fascia into alignment in order to discover how the architecture of fascia can be used to live pain free, to Abigail Gehring at Skyhorse, for publication in Spring 2017, by Danielle Burby at Hannigan Salky Getzler (World).

October 26, 2015
Fiction: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
The Unquiet Dead author Ausma Zehanat Khan's THE BLOODPRINT, the first in a fantasy quadrology set in a world in which a despot rules with an iron fist, literacy is illegal, and unchaperoned women are sold into slavery, a woman learns the location of a text long believed to be lost, she sets out on a journey with her ragtag group of friends in order to reclaim the narrative of a people and combat ignorance, to David Pomerico at Voyager and Natasha Bardon at Voyager UK, in a good deal, in a pre-empt, in a four-book deal, for publication fall 2017, by Danielle Burby at Hannigan Salky Getzler (World English). Translation: dburby@hsgagency.com

July 14, 2015
Fiction: Mystery/Crime
THE UNQUIET DEAD and the forthcoming THE LANGUAGE OF SECRETS author Ausma Zehanat Khan's the next two mysteries, to Elizabeth Lacks at Minotaur, by Danielle Burby at Hannigan Salky Getzler (world).

May 26, 2015
International rights: Canada Children's
The Unquiet Dead author Ausma Zehanat Khan's middle grade nonfiction, about the celebration of Ramadan, as part of the Orca Origins series, to Sarah Harvey at Orca Books, for publication Spring 2018, by Danielle Burby at Hannigan Salky Getzler (World).

April 27, 2015
Fiction: Mystery/Crime
Sommelier Nadine Nettmann's debut DECANTING A MURDER, the first in a new cozy series about a sommelier-in-training who discovers a dead body at a vineyard; when she finds out that her best friend is the prime suspect, she sets out to use her amateur sleuthing skills and knowledge of wine to clear her best friend's name; chapters are paired with wine recommendations to set the mood, to Terri Bischoff at Midnight Ink, at auction, in a three-book deal, by Danielle Burby at Hannigan Salky Getzler (NA). dburby@hsgagency.com

April 23, 2015
Children's: Young Adult
Mimi Cross's debut BEFORE GOODBYE, pitched for fans of Before I Fall and We Were Liars, in which a young classical guitarist's first love dies, leaving her musically paralyzed; on her journey to heal, she finds help in unexpected places from unlikely people; she may be shattered, but she's learning to examine the pieces to create music that is uniquely hers, to Miriam Juskowicz at Skyscape, for publication in January 2016, in a two-book deal, by Danielle Burby at Hannigan Salky Getzler (World). dburby@hsgagency.com

MOST RECENT RIGHTS SALES
March 30, 2016
Television rights
Ausma Zehanat Khan's THE UNQUIET DEAD mystery series, about two police officers, one of whom is Muslim, who team up to solve minority-sensitive crimes, to Lionsgate with Allison Shearmur (THE HUNGER GAMES) attached to produce, by Brendan Deneen at Macmillan Entertainment on behalf of Danielle Burby at Hannigan Salky Getzler.

September 24th, 2015
German rights to Jeff Cohen and E.J. Copperman's THE QUESTION OF THE MISSING HEAD and THE QUESTION OF THE UNFAMILIAR HUSBAND, to Blanvalet, at auction, by Tilo Eckardt at Mohrbooks, on behalf of Danielle Burby, in association with Josh Getzler at Hannigan Salky Getzler Agency.

September 9, 2015
Czech rights to Jeff Cohen and E.J. Copperman's THE QUESTION OF THE MISSING HEAD and THE QUESTION OF THE UNFAMILIAR HUSBAND, to Argo, by Lucie Polakova at Andrew Nurnberg Associates Prague, on behalf of Danielle Burby, in association with Josh Getzler at Hannigan Salky Getzler.

April 24, 2015
Korean rights to Erica Perl's WHEN LIFE GIVES YOU O.J. to Moonji, by Yona Kang at Shinwon Agency, on behalf of Danielle Burby, in association with Carrie Hannigan at Hannigan Salky Getzler Agency.

April 23, 2015
Czech rights to Sam Thomas's THE HARLOT'S TALE and THE WITCH HUNTER'S TALE, to Moba, by Lucie Polakova at Andrew Nurnberg Associates Prague, on behalf of Danielle Burby, in association with Josh Getzler at Hannigan Salky Getzler Agency.

April 23, 2015
German rights to Sam Thomas's THE WITCH HUNTER'S TALE, and e-shorts THE MAIDSERVANT AND THE MURDERER and A MURDER IN YORK, to Luebbe, by Tilo Eckardt at Mohrbooks, on behalf of Danielle Burby, in association with Josh Getzler at Hannigan Salky Getzler Agency.

August 1, 2014
Czech rights to Sam Thomas's THE MIDWIFE'S TALE, to Moba, by Lucie Polakova at Andrew Nurnberg Associates Prague, on behalf of Danielle Burby, in association with Josh Getzler at Hannigan Salky Getzler Agency.

August 1, 2014
Japanese rights to Jeff Cohen writing as E.J. Copperman's NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEED and AN UNINVITED GHOST, to Tokyo Sogensha, by Japan Uni, on behalf of Danielle Burby, in association with Josh Getzler at Hannigan Salky Getzler Agency.

June 3, 2014
German rights to Steve Hockensmith and Lisa Falco's THE WHITE MAGIC FIVE AND DIME, to DTV, by Tilo Eckardt at Mohrbooks, on behalf of Danielle Burby, in association with Josh Getzler at Hannigan Salky Getzler Agency.

KEY PERSONNEL
Kristin Nelson, Joanna MacKenzie
SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS
Please remember that I do not look at submissions for nonfiction, memoir, screenplays, short-story collections, poetry, gift or coffee table books, children’s picture books or early reader chapter books, or material for the Christian/inspirational market. Please review the Submission Guidelines before submitting

Query by email only: querydanielle@nelsonagency.com

No snail mail queries or submissions accepted.