Help: Browser Cache

Sometimes, after making changes to your Marketplace Web page, you may still see the old version of the page when viewing it in your browser. There are two possible reasons this might happen: (1) you did not actually publish (save) the changes to your page; or (2) your browser is showing you an old version of the page from its "cache" rather than the new page from the Internet.

If you are sure you have published the changes to your page (which you are asked to do during the final editing stage), then rest assured that other visitors to the Marketplace are seeing the changes you made. The problem is how to make your browser show you the new page.

  1. The first thing to try is to hold down the CTRL (Control) key while clicking your browser's REFRESH (or RELOAD) button. If that doesn't work, or if you're using an operating system other than Windows (e.g., a Macintosh), try holding down the SHIFT key while clicking the REFRESH (or RELOAD) button. One of these keys will instruct most modern browsers to bypass the cache and fetch the new page from the Internet.
  2. If that trick does not work, you will need to clear your browser's cache and/or quit and restart the browser. Sometimes merely quitting (exiting) the browser and restarting it will clear up the issue, if the browser is reading the old page from memory rather from the cache of files it stores on your hard drive.
  3. If quitting and restarting the browser still doesn't work, you will need to take additional steps that depend on the browser. Either of these online guides will help you through the process: How to Clear Internet Cache in Every Major Browser (Lifewire) Refresh Your Cache (refreshyourcache.com)
home  |  contact us  |  FAQ  |  site guide  |  help