Publishers Marketplace
   home
   site guide
   help
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
   member search
   rights postings
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Razorbill (2/20/2014)
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .


NYT and USA Bestseller
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

This site is a service of Publishers Lunch, the e-mail newsletter known as "publishing's essential daily read." Join the thousands of people who read Lunch every day.
agent : suzie@newleafliterary.com
Suzie Townsend
New Leaf Literary & Media, Inc
110 W 40th St, Suite 410, New York, NY 10018
http://confessionsofawanderingheart.blogspot.com
twitter: http://www.twitter.com/sztownsend81
illustration
William Morrow (9/17/2013)

Suzie Townsend started at FinePrint Literary Management in January 2009 and worked her way up from intern to agent. Now an agent at New Leaf Literary, she represents adult and children's fiction. She is actively looking to build her list. In adult, she's specifically looking for women's fiction, anything romance (but especially historical), and fantasy (urban fantasy, science fiction, steampunk, epic fantasy). In Childrens' she loves YA (all subgenres) and is dying to find great Middle Grade projects (especially something akin to the movie SUPER 8). She's an active member of AAR, RWA, and SCBWI.

She’s interested in strong characters and voice driven stories: she’s particularly keen on strong female protagonists, complex plot lines with underlying political, moral, or philosophical issues, and stories which break out of the typical tropes of their genre. Some of her favorite novels (that she doesn't represent) are Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card, When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead, How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff, Jellicoe Road and Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta, The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger, Jeaniene Frost's Vampire Huntress series, Anne Bishop’s Black Jewels series, Jacqueline Carey’s Kushiel series and anything by Lisa Kleypas.

She drinks too much diet orange soda, has a Starbucks problem (those soy chai lattes are addictive), and lives in New York with her two dogs, Slevin and Fate, who know that chewing on shoes is okay but chewing on books is not.


years experience: 4
GENRES & SPECIALTIES
Mystery, Romance, Suspense/thriller, Fantasy/science fiction, Juvenile fiction, Women's Fiction, Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy, Historical Romance, New Adult, YA, Middle Grade
MOST RECENT SALES/ FORTHCOMING BOOKS
Selected Recent Releases
NY Times and USA Today Bestselling Author Cora Carmack's Losing It, Faking It, and Keeping Her (William Morrow)
USA Today Bestseller A Little Too Far by Lisa Desrochers (William Morrow)
Amazon Bestselling Archers of Avalon Trilogy: Anew, Awry and Avow by Chelsea Fine
The Sinister Sweetness of Splendid Academy, the award winning middle grade novel, by Nikki Loftin (Razorbill)

Selected Forthcoming Titles
Finding It by Cora Carmack (William Morrow, 10/15/2013)
Premeditated by Josin L. McQuein (Delacorte BFYR, 10/8/2013)
A Little Too Much by Lisa Desrochers (William Morrow, 11/12/2013)
Proxy by Mindee Arnett (B+B 12/3/2013)
Avalon by Mindee Arnett (B+B, 1/21/2014)
A Little Too Hot by Lisa Desrochers (William Morrow, 1/21/2014)
Seeking Her by Cora Carmack (William Morrow, 1/28/2014)
When Audrey Met Alice by Rebecca Behrens (Sourcebooks, 2/4/2014)
Nightingale's Nest by Nikki Loftin (Razorbill, 2/20/2014)
A Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd (Scholastic, 2/25/2014)
The Nightmare Dilemma by Mindee Arnett (Tor Teen, 3/4/2014)
Wicked Little Secrets by Kara Taylor (Thomas Dunne Books, 3/4/2014)
A Death-Struck Year by Makiia Lucier (Harcourt, 3/4/2014)
Best Kind of Broken by Chelsea Fine (Grand Central, 3/4/2014)
Paint Me by Sarah Frances Hardy (Sky Pony, 5/6/2014)
Something Beginning with You by Sarah Wylie (Margaret Ferguson Books, 2014)

Recent Sales
New Adult:
NYT and USA Today Bestselling author of LOSING IT and FAKING IT, Cora Carmack's next series, starting with ALL LINED UP, featuring a nineteen-year-girl whose father was the winningest coach in Texas high school football; now he's moved to college ball, at her university -- a fact that keeps her single...until the transfer second-string quarterback hits on her at a frat party and she decides to kiss first and tell him who she is later, pitched as a college Friday Night Lights, again to Amanda Bergeron at William Morrow, in a major deal, in a three book deal, for publication in spring 2014, by Suzie Townsend at New Leaf Literary & Media.

New Adult:
Author of the self-published bestselling Archers of Avalon trilogy, Chelsea Fine's BEST KIND OF BROKEN, featuring a college sophomore who takes a summer job working at Willow Inn for the free room and board, only to discover too late that her free room shares a hallway and a bathroom with the only guy she was hoping to avoid for the rest of her life, to Megha Parekh at Forever, in a significant deal, in a three-book deal, at auction, by Suzie Townsend at New Leaf Literary & Media.

Young Adult:
Lori Lee's debut GATES OF THREAD AND STONE, about a teenage girl who must carefully stay under the radar and keep her ability -- to manipulate the threads of time -- a secret, until her brother goes missing and she must risk getting caught up in a revolution in order to save him, to Tim Ditlow at Skyscape, with Robin Benjamin editing, in a two-book deal, by Suzie Townsend of New Leaf Literary & Media.

Young Adult:
Victoria Aveyard's debut novel THE RED QUEEN set in a fantasy world where society is divided by the color of blood, featuring a seventeen year old girl who, to save her family, must assume the role of a lost princess while secretly aiding a revolution; her actions put into motion a deadly and violent dance, pitting prince against prince and her against her own heart, pitched as Graceling meets The Selection, to Kari Sutherland at Harper Teen, in a major deal, in a three-book deal, by Suzie Townsend at New Leaf Literary & Media.

Middle Grade:
The author of When the Sea is Rising Red, Cat Hellisen's BEASTKEEPER, a reimagining of Beauty and the Beast and what might have happened if they didn't actually life happily ever after, set two generations later when a young girl discovers that the curse is hereditary, to Noa Wheeler at Holt Children's, at auction, by Suzie Townsend at New Leaf Literary & Media.

Young Adult:
Alexis Bass's debut LOVE AND OTHER THEORIES, about a seventeen-year-old girl and her best friends, who have made it to second semester senior year heartbreak-free by abiding by the wisdom of Marilyn Monroe -- "A wise girl kisses but doesn't love, listens but doesn't believe, and leaves before she is left" -- until a boy moves to town and changes everything, pitched in the vein of Sara Zarr and Nina LaCour, to Rosemary Brosnan at Harper Teen, in a good deal, in a two-book deal, in a pre-empt, by Suzie Townsend at New Leaf Literary & Media.

Middle Grade:
MarcyKate Connolly's debut novel, MONSTROUS, about a girl recreated from the parts of her broken body, the wings of a raven, the tail of serpent, and a cat's razor-sharp vision, and given the mission to avenge her own death and stop other girls of the countryside from suffering the same fate, pitched as Frankenstein meets Brothers Grimm, to Rosemary Brosnan at Harper Children's, in a good deal, at auction, in a two-book deal, by Suzie Townsend at New Leaf Literary & Media.

Middle Grade:
Author of THE SINISTER SWEETNESS OF SPLENDID ACADEMY and the forthcoming NIGHTINGALE'S NEST Nikki Loftin's next untitled middle grade novel, again to Laura Arnold at Razorbill, by Suzie Townsend and New Leaf Literary & Media.

MOST RECENT RIGHTS SALES
Film Rights
Kristin Halbrook's NOBODY BUT US optioned to Haven Entertainment.
Victoria Aveyard's THE RED QUEEN optioned to Universal with Benderspink attached.
Lisa Desrochers's YA series PERSONAL DEMONS optioned to Ineffable Pictures.
Josin McQuein's YA series ARCLIGHT optioned to Universal with Imagine Entertainment's Brian Grazer producing and Matthew Sand adapting.
Dan Krokos's MG series THE PLANET THIEVES optioned to Warner Brothers with Heyday Films (Harry Potter) and Benderspink attached.
Chelsea Fine's Paranormal YA series, The Archers of Avalon (ANEW, AWRY, and AVOW), optioned to Tapestry Films.
Dan Krokos's YA thriller FALSE MEMORY, optioned to RKO Pictures.
Julie Cross's YA time travel series TEMPEST, optioned to Summit Entertainment.

Subrights
Rights to Victoria Aveyard's THE RED QUEEN trilogy have been pre-empted in Brazil (Companhia das Letras), Italy (Mondadori) Norway (Cappelen Damm), France (Lattes), Israel (Modan), UK (Orion), Dutch (Cargo), German (Carlsen), Complex Chinese (Crown), Turkey (Pegasus)
Rights to Natalie Lloyd's A SNICKER OF MAGIC have been sold in Italy (Sperling), Germany (Arsedition)
Rights to Alexis Bass's GIRLS EVOLVED have been sold in Russia (AST)
Rights to Cora Carmack's LOSING IT have been sold in UK (Ebury), Greece (Psichogios), Korea (Random House Korea), Spain (RBA Libros), Turkey (Pena), Hungary (Content 2 Connect), France (La Martiniere), Italy (Anordest), Brazil (Novo Conceito), Germany (Lyx),
Rights to Dan Krokos's THE PLANET THIEVES have been sold in audio (Blackstone), Greece (Livanis), Brazil (Vergara & Riba), Czech (Egmont), Slovakia (Egmont), Poland (Drageus).
Rights to Chelsea Fine's ANEW have been sold in Turkey (Pegasus), Audio (Audible).
Rights to Kristin Halbrook's NOBODY BUT US have been sold in France (Abin Machel), Germany (Heyne Fleight), Taiwan (Ecus).
Rights to Cat Hellisen's WHEN THE SEA IS RISING RED have been sold in Audio (Audible), France (La Martinière Le Seuil).
Rights to Dan Krokos' FALSE MEMORY have been sold in Spain (Anaya), Turkey (Dogan Kitap), Hungary (Fonix).
Rights to Josin McQuein's ARCLIGHT have been sold in UK (Egmont UK), Germany (Egmont).
Rights to Allison Pang's A BRUSH OF DARKNESS have been sold in Spain (Ediciones B).
Rights to Sarah Wylie's ALL THESE LIVES have been sold in Audio (Audible), Germany (Heyne and Bertlesmann Juvenile), Complex Chinese (Omnibooks), Brazil (Autentica).
Rights to Lisa Desrochers' PERSONAL DEMONS have also been sold in Audio (Audible), German (Rowohlt), Australia (Pan Macmillan), Brazilian Portuguese (Editoria iD), French (Bragelonne), Russian (Eksmo), Italian (Newton Compton), Portuguese (Saída de Emergência), Turkish (Artemis Yayinlari), Polish (Wydawnictwo Ksinica), Hungarian (Kelly Kiadó), Spanish (La Factoria de Ideas).
Rights to Julie Cross' TEMPEST have been sold in German (Fischer), UK (Macmillan UK Children’s), Russian (AST), Brazilian Portuguese (Pensamento-Cultrix), Croatian (Naklada Ljevak), Italian (Fanucci), French (Editions du Seuil), Portuguese (Dom Quixote), Korean (Hyundaemunhak), Taiwan/Chinese (Sharp Point), Thai (Amarin), Turkish (Pegasus), Indonesian (Mizan Publishing House), Polish (Bukowy Las), Czech and Slovak (Nakladatelstvi Fragment s. r. o), Spanish (Maeva), Danish (Tellerup).

SUB-AGENTS/ RIGHTS CONTACTS
Kathleen Ortiz, Director of Subrights
Pouya Shahbazian, Film/TV Rights
KEY PERSONNEL
Joanna Volpe, President/Agent
Kathleen Ortiz, Subrights Director/Agent
Suzie Townsend, Agent
Pouya Shahbazian, Film/TV Manager
Danielle Barthel, Literary Assistant
Jaida Temperly, Literary Assistant
SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS
Please see my submission guidelines here.
thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail