Publishers Marketplace
   home
   site guide
   help
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
   member search
   rights postings
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .


. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

This site is a service of Publishers Lunch, the e-mail newsletter known as "publishing's essential daily read." Join the thousands of people who read Lunch every day.
agent : nancy@staufferliterary.com
Nancy Stauffer Cahoon
Nancy Stauffer Associates
PO Box 1203, Darien, CT 06820
203 202 2500
http://staufferliterary.com
illustration

Nancy Stauffer Associates is a boutique agency representing a small, select group of authors of the highest quality literary fiction and literary narrative non-fiction.

Over the course of my more than 20 year career, I've held positions in the editorial, marketing, business, and rights departments of The New York Times, McGraw-Hill, and Doubleday. Before founding Nancy Stauffer Associates, I was Director of Foreign and Performing Rights and, later, Director, Subsidiary Rights, at Doubleday, where I was honored to have worked with a diverse range of internationally known and bestselling authors of all genres.

Please note I consider new clients on a very selective basis, as I work extensively on all facets of my clients' work and career. That said, I'm always looking for singular, strong voice, craftsmanship, and compelling, utterly sprung to life characters, of which my clients' works are the perfect illustration.


GENRES & SPECIALTIES
Literary Fiction, Young Adult, Narrative Non-fiction
LEADING CLIENTS
Sherman Alexie (www.fallsapart.com)
Laura Bell (www.facebook.com/pages/Laura-Bell)
Todd Boss (www.toddbosspoet.com)
Peter Brown (www.petertbrown.com)
Betsy Burton (www.kingsenglish.com)
Dr. Leo Buscaglia (www.slackbooks.com)
Gary Ferguson (www.wildwords.net)
Dennis Foley (www.dennisfoley.com)
The Estate of Arthur Hailey
Dr. William C. Harris
Kent Haruf (www.facebook.com/kentharuf)
Alex Kuo (www.alexkuo.org)
Micheal O'Siadhail (www.osiadhail.com)
Slack Inc. (www.slackinc.com)
Mark Spragg (www.markspragg.com)
Stephen Wallace (www.stephengraywallace.com)
BEST-KNOWN PROJECTS
BENEDICTION by Kent Haruf, Finalist for The Folio Award, heralded as a "stunningly original writer"
THE ABSOLUTELY TRUE DIARY OF A PART-TIME INDIAN by Sherman Alexie, winner of the National Book Award (Little, Brown Books For Young Readers)
WHERE RIVERS CHANGE DIRECTION and AN UNFINISHED LIFE by Mark Spragg (Alfred A. Knopf)
MOST RECENT SALES/ FORTHCOMING BOOKS
THE MAGIC AND TRAGIC YEAR OF MY BROKEN THUMB by Sherman Alexie (YA novel, sequel to ABSOLUTELY TRUE DIARY); Little Brown Books For Young Readers
FIRE WITH FIRE by Sherman Alexie; Reagan Arthur Books
OTHER LEADING RIGHTS OFFERINGS
Representing the fine lists of:

Pharos Editions - pharoseditions.com
Dark Coast Press - darkcoastpress.com
Torrey House Press - torreyhouse.com

SUB-AGENTS/ RIGHTS CONTACTS
Antonella Antonelli, Italy
Eliane Benisti, France
Anneli Hoier and Eva Haagerup, Scandanavia
Ronit Zafran, Germany
Ken Mori and Misa Morikawa, Japan
Montse Yanez, Spain
PIP Agency, Eastern Europe, Russia, Greece
Amy Spangler, Turkey
SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS
* Queries by email only to: nancy@staufferliterary.com Please include the first 10 pages of your work

* Most of my new clients come from referrals from existing clients

* Please note I do not represent: genre fiction (mysteries, science fiction/fantasy, romance), historical fiction, thrillers, or action/adventure

* I will respond promptly to your query if I have requested material but I regret I am unable to respond to all queries

thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail thumbnail